Spotlight on Indigenous frontline health workers



The finalists have been unveiled for the 2021 Northern Territory Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Worker and Practitioner Awards of Excellence to be held on September 2.

The exceptional work of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health professionals to support their families, communities and health system in the territory will be central.

The awards are organized in partnership with the Australian Government Department of Health, the Darwin Sunrise Rotary Club, United Workers Union, the Aboriginal Medical Services Alliance of the Northern Territory and the National Association of Indigenous and Island Health Workers and Practitioners of the Torres Strait.

All indigenous health workers and health practitioners employed in the territory may be appointed.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students studying the qualifications of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Primary Health Care Training Program are eligible for nomination in the Student Awards category.

These awards recognize the efforts of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health workers during the period May 2020 to June 1, 2021.

Applications were opened on June 1, 2021 and closed on July 18, 2021.

Quotes from Health Minister Natasha Fyles:

“Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health professionals play a vital role in our community by providing health services across the land to clients in urban, regional and remote areas.

“Not only are they ensuring the safety of the Territorials during this pandemic, but they are also making sure that we do not neglect our general health.

“I congratulate the 19 finalists vying for an award in addition to all the other frontline health workers who are all community heroes. “


– Chris Rankine-Johnson, Pine Creek Primary Health Care Center

– Dorothy Gondarra, Miwatj Health Aboriginal Corporation

– Elizabeth Hitchcock, Royal Darwin Hospital

– Emslie Lankin, Alice Springs Hospital

– Eyvette Hawthorne, Royal Darwin Hospital

– Ilija Jacobs, Top End Mental Health and Alcohol and Other Drugs

– Jecinta Tatipata, Casuarina Community Care Center

– Keinan Keighran, Wurli-Wurlinjang Indigenous Health Service

– Leah Carter, Ti Tree Primary Health Care Center

– Maryanne Malbunka, Ntaria Primary Health Care Center

– Megan Munckton, Tennant Creek Hospital

– Patricia Nundhirribala, Numbulwar Primary Health Care Center

– Ricky Orr, Titjikala Primary Health Care Center

– Sarah Mariyalawuy Bukulatjpi, Miwatj Health Aboriginal Corporation

– Sarah Quong, Danila Dilba Health Service

– Sherrelle Khan, Alice Springs Hospital

– Sherryl King, Wurli-Wurlinjang Indigenous Health Service

– Susan Mungatopi, Milikapiti Primary Health Care Center

– Virgil John Puruntatameri, Pirlangimpi Primary Health Care Center

/ Public distribution. This material is from the original organization and may be ad hoc in nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View full here.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.